Humanist Discussion Group

Humanist Archives: June 10, 2021, 5:49 a.m. Humanist 35.76 - nominations for digital preservation stewardship award?

              Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 35, No. 76.
        Department of Digital Humanities, University of Cologne
                      Hosted by DH-Cologne
                Submit to:

        Date: 2021-06-09 18:38:37+00:00
        From: Abrams, Stephen <>
        Subject: NDSA 2021 Excellence Awards


Nominations are now being accepted for the National Digital Stewardship Alliance
(NDSA, 2021 Excellence


The annual NDSA award program was first established in 2012 as the Innovation
Awards to recognize and encourage exemplary achievement in the field of digital
preservation stewardship. Beginning in 2021, the awards were renamed as the
Excellence Awards to highlight and commend all forms of creative and meaningful
contributions by individuals, projects, sustainability activities,
organizations, future stewards, and educators to the field of digital
preservation. These awards focus on recognizing excellence in the following

  *   Educator Award: Recognizing academics, trainers, and curricular endeavors
promoting effective and inventive approaches to digital preservation education
through academic programs, partnerships, professional development opportunities,
and curriculum development.
  *   Future Steward Award: Recognizing students and early-career professionals
making an impact on advancing knowledge and practice of digital preservation
  *   Individual Award: Recognizing those individuals making a significant
contribution to the digital preservation community through advances in theory or
  *   Organization Award: Recognizing those organizations providing support,
guidance, advocacy, or leadership for the digital preservation community.
  *   Project Award: Recognizing those activities whose goals or outcomes make a
significant contribution or strategic or conceptual understanding necessary for
successful digital preservation stewardship.
  *   Sustainability Award: Recognizing those activities whose goals or outcomes
make a significant contribution to operational trustworthiness, monitoring,
maintenance, or intervention necessary for sustainable digital preservation

As a diverse international membership organization with a shared commitment to
digital preservation, the NDSA understands the importance of developing and
supporting a broad range of successful digital preservation activities.
Acknowledging that exemplary digital stewardship can take many forms,
eligibility for these awards has been left purposely broad. Anyone or any
project or institution acting in the context of the above categories can be
nominated for an award. Nominees do not have to be NDSA member institutions or
individuals or project staff affiliated with member institutions, but must
evidence engagement with the theory and practice of long-term digital
preservation stewardship. Nominators similarly do not need to be affiliated with
NDSA member institutions. Self-nomination is accepted and encouraged, as are
submissions reflecting the needs and accomplishments of historically
marginalized and underrepresented communities.

Nominations will be accepted until Friday, July 30, 2021.

In past years, prizes have been presented during the NDSA's annual Digital
Preservation conference ( Given ongoing travel
restrictions, this year's event will again take place in virtual form, on Nov.
4, 2021. Attendance at the conference is encouraged but not required for
awardees or nominators.

In these troubled times, it is especially important to take the time to
recognize and laud exemplary activity. We encourage all members of the
international digital preservation community to help us highlight and reward
distinctive approaches to the challenges of digital preservation by submitting
nominations for worthy candidates at:

For more information on the details on awards from previous years, please visit Please feel free to pass along this
announcement to colleagues.

NDSA Innovation Awards Working Group:

Samantha Abrams, Center for Research Libraries
Stephen Abrams, Harvard University (co-chair)
Lauren Goodley, Texas State University
Grete Graf, Yale University
Kari May, University of Pittsburgh
Krista Oldham, Clemson University (co-chair)


Stephen Abrams (he/him/his)
Head of Digital Preservation
Preservation Services<>
+1 617-998-5468
90 Mt. Auburn Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

Champions of Curiosity

Unsubscribe at:
List posts to:
List info and archives at at:
Listmember interface at:
Subscribe at: