Humanist Discussion Group

Humanist Archives: Oct. 9, 2021, 7:46 a.m. Humanist 35.292 - events: heritage partnerships in AI

				                  Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 35, No. 292.
        Department of Digital Humanities, University of Cologne
                   		Hosted by DH-Cologne
                       www.dhhumanist.org
                Submit to: humanist@dhhumanist.org




        Date: 2021-10-08 14:34:19+00:00
        From: Christopher Loughnane 
        Subject: AEOLIAN Network Workshop 2: “Reimagining Industry / Academic / Cultural Heritage Partnerships in AI”

I am pleased to announce that registration is open for AEOLIAN Network Workshop
2: “Reimagining Industry / Academic / Cultural Heritage Partnerships in AI.”

The workshop will be held online and hosted by Auburn University (Alabama, USA),
on Monday, 25 October, and Tuesday, 26 October, 2021.

This workshop, the second in a series, is focused on the application of
innovative AI research methods and collaborations among industry, academia, and
cultural institutions, how they are now, and what they might look like in the
future.  The workshop invites critique, visions, and revisions of what and how
these relations might grow with equity and social justice interweaved from the
design process onwards; we will explore both synergies and differences in the
ethics, motivations, and practices  implicated in such industry / cultural
heritage partnerships, reimagining them for a thoughtful and intentional future.

Please join us for a stimulating set of presentations followed by robust and
thoughtful discussion.

Times for both days are:

     – 8:00 am to 12:00 pm Pacific Daylight (UTC -7)

     – 10:00 am to 2:00 pm Central Daylight (UTC -6)

     – 11:00 am to 3:00 pm Eastern Daylight (UTC -5)

     – 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm UK (UTC +1)

The workshop is free of charge, but registration is required at
https://forms.gle/9USeZdciNRZT8ETB9

Speakers

  *   David De Roure, Oxford University

  *   Eun Seo Jo, Stanford University

  *   Katherine McDonough, The Alan Turing Institute

  *   Mutale Nkonde, AI For the People

  *   Caroline Sinders, Convocation Design+Research; London College of
Communication

  *   Jeff Steward, Harvard Art Museums

  *   Glen Worthey, HathiTrust Research Center / University of Illinois Urbana-
Champaign

Full details can be found at the website: https://www.aeolian-
network.net/events/workshop-2/

I look forward to seeing you then.


Dr. Chris Loughnane
Digital Scholarship Librarian
Auburn University Libraries
chris.loughnane@auburn.edu


_______________________________________________
Unsubscribe at: http://dhhumanist.org/Restricted
List posts to: humanist@dhhumanist.org
List info and archives at at: http://dhhumanist.org
Listmember interface at: http://dhhumanist.org/Restricted/
Subscribe at: http://dhhumanist.org/membership_form.php